Starting shot for the “2015 National Firefighting Team of the Year” finale

The finalists for the national Conrad Dietrich Magirus prize have been chosen. The professional jury has made its choice: Ten German fire-fighting teams have come out on top of the online voting process and thus made it into the final round of the “National Firefighting Team of the Year” contest. From 26 October until 13 December, everyone can choose their favourite fire brigade team.

As of 26 October, everyone can choose their favourite fire department at With this award, Magirus GmbH honours the outstanding services that German fire departments perform seven days a week around the clock – and not solely in classic disciplines such as fire-fighting or rescue operations. This is why for the first time, a special prize for Social Commitment will be presented in 2015. Five fire departments are vying for this special prize: two from North Rhine-Westphalia and one team each from Hesse, Rhineland-Palatinate and Saxony-Anhalt. The Conrad Dietrich Magirus prize is now being presented for the fourth time by Magirus.

The top ten in the race for the “2015 National Firefighting Team of the Year”

  • Cologne Professional Fire Department (City of Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia)
  • Reutlingen Professional Fire Department / Voluntary Fire Department (Tuebingen, Baden-Wuerttemberg)
  • Rauschenhammermühle Emergency Alert Firefighting Team (Upper Franconia, Bavaria)
  • Babenhausen Voluntary Fire Department (Darmstadt-Dieburg district, Hesse)
  • Celle Voluntary Fire Department (City of Celle, Lower Saxony)
  • Lauf a. d. Pegnitz, Neunkirchen a. Sand, Ottensoos, Reichenschwand, Rueblanden and Speikern Voluntary Fire Departments (Nuremberg-Land Administrative district, Bavaria)
  • Mehring Voluntary Fire Department (Trier-Saarburg district, Rhineland Palatinate)
  • Obertshausen Voluntary Fire Department (Offenbach district, Hesse)
  • Ottobrunn Voluntary Fire Department (Munich district, Bavaria)
  • Lennestadt Voluntary Fire Department – LG Elspe (Olpe district, North Rhine-Westphalia)

The five finalists for the “Social Commitment” special prize

  • Arnsberg / Wennigloh Voluntary Fire Department (High Sauerland district, North Rhine-Westphalia)
  • Erkrath Voluntary Fire Department (Mettmann district, North Rhine-Westphalia)
  • Hohendodeleben Voluntary Fire Department (Boerdekreis district, Saxony-Anhalt)
  • Marburg-Ockershausen Voluntary Fire Department (Marburg-Biedenkopf district, Hesse)
  • Wittlich Youth Fire Department (Bernkastel-Wittlich district, Rhineland-Palatinate)

The finalists were chosen by a top-class jury. In addition to Rudolf Römer, deputy federal managing director of the German Fire Department Association, the panel included Dr. Roland Demke, head of the Wuerzburg State Fire Service School, Jan-Erik Hegemann, Editor-in-Chief of Feuerwehr magazine and Alfred Bidlingmaier from Magirus as well as other proven experts in the field of fire-fighting. The committee of experts particularly emphasised the quality of the missions. “This year, we had many high-quality missions to choose from, all of which represent the broad spectrum of fire department work,” said Dr. Roland Demke.

More information about the Conrad Dietrich Magirus Prize.

More interesting news